He Loves You

He loves you,
you know.

Despite the lack of
making it verbal
every time you utter it first he,
loves you.

Despite the fact that
eye contact is nonexistent
when the television
and your concerns
compete to channel his attention.

When
will it start feeling like
you’re relevant
long past a commercial break?

He promises to tune you in now,
although his lips mouth
programmed responses
so dauntlessly as if,
you wouldn’t catch on
to his sincerity
being remotely controlled.

You’re not being trolled.
This isn’t some
innocent joke gone rogue.
He isn’t
ignoring you;
but he has permitted
enough of the cares,
the doctor’s appointments,
life’s shares of disappointments
to disjoint him
from what he really loves and 
he really loves you,
you know.

So forgive him,
if presently
he seems more absent;
if his touch seems
a little unplugged from love;
if his words
no longer inspire you
to feel less of his mistakes
and more of his faith
in making this work.

This isn’t to say
you deserve mediocrity.
This isn’t to say
you deserve to reap
the cheap efforts of a heart
tired of beating itself in vain;
but if you’re staying
just know that he’s trying.

And yes,
it might take a while
to get it right,
but nothing worth building
was built over night.

One thought on “He Loves You

  1. Lord, forgive me of these acts depicted in this poem. I know You are with me. Help me to not abuse Your presence. For You are here right now and I should be reverence in Your presence. Because You are here, I’m on holy ground. This is where I want to stay. I want to stay with You. You are worth all my efforts and so much more. I need You to help me surrender and let You, Jesus, be my God. With You it’s possible. With You all is possible. My actions, without You, is nothing. Grant me Your Holy Spirit. Fill me with Your Holy Spirit. In Jesus’ name we pray. Amen.

    Singing:
    We are standing on holy ground.
    And I know that there are angels all around.
    Let us praise Jesus now.
    We are standing in His Presence on holy ground.

    We are standing on holy ground.
    And I know that there are angels all around.
    Let us praise Jesus now.
    We are standing in His Presence
    We are standing in His Presence
    We are standing in His Presence on holy ground.

Leave a Reply

