They Were Right

If they told me
that I’d still love you
well after your frame
would delineate your age
less gracefully than you hoped for;
your skin,
abused by life’s solar flares,
would completely eclipse the glow
within the pigment of your youth;
I probably would’ve ran away from you,
far into your future self
to tell you,
for better or for worse,
they were right.

For no sunset,
can embezzle the radiance
in your smile,
the luster
in your laughter
that I’m still dazzled by.

Sundials
are rendered useless
in your presence,
their shadows still question
the degree of relevance
in light of you;
for no measurement
can quantify my admiration
or adoration for you.

For your love,
immutable through
the vicissitudes of seasons
we never planned to weather,
posed as the apex
of timeless memories,
of a priceless virtue
framed suitably
within vows.

So if you,
are ever to doubt
my affection just know,
that I was,
that I am,
and always will be
in love with you.

Leave a Reply

