Just in Case

Just in case
your tomorrow
doesn’t find me
in the realm of the tangible,
but rather
coasting subways
to burrow into boroughs
of an after life
void of you.

I’ll apologize now
for shying away
from awkward introductions,
for being the hallmark
of timidness,
for standing
half past bashful,
wishing to express in words
just how much I regret
never tasting a future with you
in anything more
than a shot glass
of wishful attempts,
waiting to be chased
by excuses
I could never stomach living with.

2 thoughts on “Just in Case

  1. Reblogged this on nosoundissomething and commented:
    I hope you don’t mind me adding to your work.

    Not that I’m making an excuse by saying this but, I just can’t help think that Christ does after certain parts in the poem. Despite ourselves and others, Christ thinks we’re beautiful. He thinks we’re worth fighting for, to suffer for, to died for. I’m not even close to being worthy of His thoughts and actions and yet ….

    It’s nice to have a reminder that there’s One who thinks kind things of you and is willing to tell you those things every day. It’s really nice, thank you Heavenly Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit. No words thought of nor spoken can express my gratitude. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

