Senseless, I surrender

She told me that only women
have a sixth sense.
I laughed it off and denied;
for I must be a living contradiction.
“What do you have that I don’t?
What can you do that I won’t?
Is it that which enables you
to claim a sense more than I?”

These sockets hold
heaven’s gift to visibility,
aesthetics dependent;
for what is the spectrum
to a color-blind?
What is my love for your eyes,
if mine our naught?
Would you venture to claim sight,
and with it,
will away your beauty
from the eyes of your lover?
Claim it,
and blind will I behold you still,
unconditional will I love you,
always.

The Messiah
echoed footsteps
over my eardrum
and I was whispered a miracle –
something like a parable unraveled,
but the day I hear “I do…”
said from fearless lips of love divine,
well that day,
that’ll be something more than a miracle.
A parcel of heaven sliced,
bred solely to nourish our love.
But will you pawn my ears
to secure your pride too?
Then if silence be my lot,
my palms remain open,
even if only in hope
to feel the vibrato of your voice,
reverberate within the ripples
of my hands.

These fingertips,
have left their imprints upon your soul.
They have tugged teasingly,
caressed unceasingly,
given willingly,
pulled desperately,
and these arms have held you tenderly.
Will you rob me of my nerves now?
Intangible and nerveless will l be,
cursed as the serpent,
your essence remains upon my tongue,
unless you choose to claim my sense of scents also.

And now,
how can I taste you once more?
Your heated,
moistened,
salty skin ‘neath honey dipped moons,
deprive me of this also?
Take it.
For as we kissed,
your molars revealed their wisdom,
told me what I sensed
when you struck me senseless for the first time;
told me
that you would love me,
with the five avenues to your soul,
even if your sixth
told you otherwise.

They said you’d have to be brainless
to love someone like me;
so you told them
you’d love me insensibly crazy,
and you have.

But I only need one sense to see you,

hear you,

touch you,

smell you,

taste you.

So please,
claim all the senses you desire,
but please,
don’t break my heart.

Senseless, I surrender…

Leave a Reply

